Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

Background

Energy Lab 2.0 Schema (Quelle: KIT)
Energy Lab 2.0 - a research platform for cross-linked intelligent energy networks (Graphics: KIT)

In Germany, the “Energiewende” (energy transition) is designed to make the energy supply more sustainable for the environment and climate. 

Alongside increasing the share of renewable energy sources, the energy supply also has to remain affordable and reliable. Wind and solar energy do not supply a constant amount of energy at all times of the day or year, and often not in the location where the energy is needed. This mismatch between generation and consumption of renewable energies requires new concepts for energy transport, distribution, storage and utilisation.

These concepts are being investigated by the Helmholtz Centres Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), German Aerospace Center (DLR) and Forschungszentrum Jülich (FZJ) using a new large-scale research infrastructure - the Energy Lab 2.0

Energy Lab 2.0 is both a real-life experimental facility and a simulation platform, enabling the partners to investigate the interplay of components in the smart, connected energy system of the future. This will see the development of new grid architectures, the integration of widely varying storage technologies, new grid hardware and strategies for monitoring and control, as well as the interlinkage of electricity, heat and chemical energy carriers; all of which contribute to ensuring the success of the energy transition.

The Energy Lab 2.0 is funded by the Federal State of Baden-Württemberg as well as the Federal Ministries of Education and Research (BMBF), and Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi).

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Hintergrund

Energy Lab 2.0 Schema (Quelle: KIT)
Das Energy Lab 2.0 als Forschungsplattform für verknüpfte intelligente Energienetze (Bild: KIT)

In Deutschland soll mit der Energiewende die Energieversorgung klima- und  umweltverträglicher gestaltet werden. Neben dem Ausbau der erneuerbaren Energien muss die Energieversorgung aber bezahlbar und verlässlich bleiben. Wind- und Sonnenenergie liefern nicht zu jeder Tages- und Jahreszeit konstanten Strom und oft auch nicht an dem Ort an dem er benötigt wird. Dieses Ungleichgewicht zwischen der Erzeugung und dem Verbrauch erneuerbarer Energien verlangt nach neuen Konzepten für deren Transport, Verteilung, Speicherung und Nutzung. 

Diese Konzepte werden von den Helmholtz-Zentren Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT), Deutsches  Zentrum für Luft und Raumfahrt (DLR) und Forschungszentrum Jülich (FZJ) in einer neuen großskaligen Forschungsinfrastruktur untersucht – Das Energy Lab 2.0.

Mit dem Energy Lab 2.0 als Forschungsinfrastruktur und Reallabor wird von den Partnern das Zusammenspiel der Komponenten von verknüpften Energienetzen der Zukunft untersucht. Dabei wird die intelligenten Verknüpfung von elektrischem Strom mit unterschiedlichsten Speichern und dem Verbraucher, der last- und brennstoffflexiblen Stromerzeugung sowie dem dazu benötigten sicheren Informations- und Datennetz und neuer Netzhardware und -topologien sowie Methoden zur Netzstabilisierung und Regelstrategien erprobt und entwickelt.

Das Energy Lab 2.0 wird gefördert vom Land Baden-Württemberg sowie den Bundesministerien für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) und für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi).