Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

SEnSSiCC

The brain of the Energy Lab 2.0 is the Smart Energy System Simulation and Control Center (SEnSSiCC). SEnSSiCC controls most of the plants and collects all the data which can then be stored, displayed in various ways, and thoroughly analyzed.

As a development environment for controlling local intelligent energy systems, SEnSSiCC offers a platform to experiment with all relevant components scaled down to study even critical operating states as well as for training. Furthermore, SEnSSiCC provides a power hardware in-the-loop test facility with real-time simulation and control. SEnSSiCC also enables the detailed investigation and simulation of multi-scale energy systems, involving different energy carriers.

Conceptual design by Behnisch Architects for the SEnSSiCC building

 

The Smart Energy System Control Laboratory (SESCL)

As part of the infrastructure for researching the energy transition, the KIT is building the Smart Energy System Control Laboratory (SESCL) in the Energy Lab 2.0. It will be equipped with the most important devices from electrical grids and heating systems. The connection to mobility is through battery charging stations. Of course, in a laboratory, only very few components are connected to a grid in comparison with reality. For this reason, the researchers use Power Hardware in the Loop systems (PHIL) to simulate the environment. A unique feature in the SESCL is the option  of wiring  up  and performing  new  experiments remotely  and quickly. The power switching station for this feature comes in 27 electric cabinets.

The Energy Grids Simulation Laboratory (EGSL)

Energy networks connect producers and consumers. The grid of the future plays a central role in the energy transition, making it essential to plan, simulate, analyze and optimize the grid. In the Energy Grids Simulation & Analysis Lab (EGSL), a hardware and software infrastructure is realized in the form of a toolbox for modeling, multimodal simulation and analysis of energy networks. Both microgrids (household grids and stand-alone grids) and the grid on the KIT north campus, as well as wide area synchronous grids (city of Karlsruhe grid, transport and 110 kV grid in Germany, European UCTE grid) are examined. State-of-the-art software and novel computer solutions developed in-house form the basis for this in the EGSL.

The Control, Monitoring and Visualization Center (CMVC)

The “Control, Monitoring and Visualization Center” (CMVC) in the Energy Lab 2.0 is a piece of research-oriented IT infrastructure for conceptualizing, developing and evaluating new software approaches for planning and operating smart energy system solutions. Using a high performance computing  cluster with  cloud  computing and  big  data technologies, innovative services provide researchers with highly scalable tools for data management, analysis/forecasting, simulation, optimization, and visualization. A SCADA (Supervisory Control and Data Acquisition) instrumentation ensures the technical and regulatory connection to the Energy Lab 2.0 plants and energy networks.

Power Hardware In The Loop (PHIL) 

Power Hardware in the Loop (PHIL) is a virtual real-time grid simulation environment that incorporates and exchanges power with real hardware. PHIL is used to safely and repeatedly test new power grid components, topologies and technologies in any imaginable operating scenario, to reduce hardware development costs, shorten time to market and turn Germany's power grid into a sustainable one with a large share of distributed renewable energy generation.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Das SEnSSiCC

Das Herzstück des Energy Lab 2.0 ist das Smart Energy System Simulation and Control Center (SEnSSiCC). Von hier aus können nicht nur viele der Anlagen gesteuert werden, hier laufen auch alle Daten zusammen, die dann gespeichert, vielfältig dargestellt und eingehend analysiert werden können.

Als Entwicklungsumgebung für die Steuerung und Regelung lokaler intelligenter Energiesysteme bietet das SEnSSiCC ein Experimentierfeld mit allen relevanten Komponenten im Labormaßstab. Hier können auch kritische Betriebszustände studiert und Schulungen durchgeführt werden. Ein weiterer Bestandteil ist ein Labor zum realistischen, aber sicheren Testen elektrischer Betriebsmittel in Echtzeit mit hoher elektrischer Leistung. Im SEnSSiCC können außerdem mehrskalige Energiesysteme verschiedener Energieträger erforscht und simuliert werden.

Entwurf von Behnisch Architekten für das SEnSSiCC-Gebäude


Das Smart Energy System Control Laboratory (SESCL)

Das KIT baut als Teil der Infrastruktur für Forschungen zur Energiewende im Energy Lab 2.0 das „Smart Energy System Control Laboratory“ (SESCL) auf. Dort werden Repräsentanten der wichtigsten Geräte von Stromnetzen und Wärmeversorgungsanlagen installiert. Batterieladestationen sind die Verbindung zur Mobilität. Im Labor werden natürlich nur wenige Komponenten zu einem Netz verbunden, verglichen zur Realität. Deswegen simulieren die Experimentatoren das Umfeld mit Power Hardware in the Loop Systemen (PHIL). Eine Besonderheit im SESCL wird die Möglichkeit sein, fernbedient und schnell neue Experimente zu verschalten und durchzuführen. Die dafür benötigte Schaltanlage füllt 27 Schränke.


Das Energy Grids Simulation Laboratory (EGSL)

Energienetze verbinden Erzeuger und Verbrauer. Das zukünftige Stromnetz spielt für die Energiewende eine zentrale Rolle. Die Planung, Simulation, Analyse und Optimierung des Verbundnetzes ist daher zwingend erforderlich. Im Energy Grids Simulation & Analysis Lab (EGSL) wird eine Hard- und Software-Infrastruktur in Form einer Toolbox zur Modellierung, multimodalen Simulation und Analyse von Energienetzen realisiert. Es werden sowohl Micro-Grids (Hausnetze, Inselnetze) und das KIT Campus-Nord Grid, als auch Verbundnetze (Stadtnetz Karlsruhe, Transport- und 110 kV Netz Deutschland, Transportnetz Europa) untersucht. „State-of-the-Art“ Software und selbst entwickelte, neuartige Computerlösungen bildet dafür in EGSL die Grundlage.


Das Control, Monitoring and Visualization Center (CMVC)

Das „Control, Monitoring and Visualization Center“ (CMVC) des Energy Lab 2.0 ist eine forschungsorientierte IT-Infrastruktur für die Konzeption, Entwicklung und Erprobung  neuer Software für Planung und Betrieb smarter Energiesystemlösungen. Auf Basis eines Computerclusters mit Cloud- und „Big Data“-Technologien stellen innovative Dienste hoch skalierbare Datenmanagement-, Datenanalyse-/Vorhersage-, Simulations-, Optimierungs- und Visualisierungswerkzeuge für die Forscher bereit. Eine SCADA-Instrumentierung (Supervisory Control and Data Acquisition) des Campus sorgt für die daten- und kontrolltechnische Anbindung der Anlagen und Netze des Energy Lab 2.0.


Power Hardware In The Loop (PHIL)
Power Hardware in the Loop (PHIL) ist eine virtuelle Echtzeit-Simulationsumgebung, die echte Leistungsbetriebsmittel integriert. PHIL wird ein gesetzt zur sicheren und wiederholbaren Prüfung neuer Netzkomponenten, -topologien und -technologien in jeder erdenklichen Betriebssituation, zur Senkung von Hardware-Entwicklungskosten, um die Zeitspanne vom Design bis zur Marktreife zu verkürzen und um Deutschlands Stromnetz mit einem hohen Anteil an erneuerbarer Energie zukunftsfähig zu machen.